MODERNIZING R&D FOR THE 21ST CENTURY

MODERNIZING R&D FOR THE 21ST CENTURY – The United States spends more than any other nation on research and development (R&D) each year, investing over $150 billion in federally funded R&D alone. The U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has released a draft green paper detailing steps to modernize the U.S. system of technology transfer and innovation for the 21st century. The actions outlined in the green paper would help maximize returns on the taxpayer investment in R&D. The document lays out actions aligned with five strategies: 1) identifying regulatory impediments and administrative improvements; 2) increasing engagement with private sector experts and investors; 3) building a more entrepreneurial R&D workforce; 4) supporting innovative tools and services for technology transfer; and 5) improving understanding of global science and technology. The complete green paper is available at https://tinyurl.com/yalcgp7x.

Read the Economic Scene

Rob Ehrhardt
Economic Development Director
rehrhardt@volusia.org

Sally Sprague
Executive Assistant
ssprague@volusia.org

Brad Harris
Business Manager
rbharris@volusia.org

Pedro Leon
Business Manager
pleon@volusia.org

Virgil Kimball
Business Specialist
vkimball@volusia.org

Robbin Sebra
Staff Assistant
rsebra@volusia.org

Offices located in the Daytona Beach International Airport (passenger terminal)
700 Catalina Drive, Suite 200
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
386-248-8048 · 800-554-3801