MANUFACTURING SKILLS GAP CRISIS EXPLORED IN MANUFACTURING INSTITUTE STUDY

MANUFACTURING SKILLS GAP CRISIS EXPLORED IN MANUFACTURING INSTITUTE STUDY – A joint 2018 study by Deloitte and The Manufacturing Institute (TMI) finds that a widening skills gap exists in U.S. manufacturing. It potentially leaves an estimated 2.4 million positions unfilled between 2018 and 2028, with an economic impact of $2.5 trillion. If the industry is unable to fill the anticipated open jobs, the study reveals a risk of failing to capture manufacturing added value which, in the year 2028 alone, would reach $454 billion. Though manufacturing consistently ranks as one of today’s top paying industry sectors, nearly 5 of 10 open positions for skilled workers remain unoccupied due to the skills gap crisis. Vacancies will include positions for skilled production workers, supply chain talent, digital talent, engineers, scientists, software engineers and operational managers. Learn more at http://tinyurl.com/ycbwdwch.

Read the Economic Scene

Rob Ehrhardt
Economic Development Director
rehrhardt@volusia.org

Sally Sprague
Executive Assistant
ssprague@volusia.org

Brad Harris
Business Manager
rbharris@volusia.org

Pedro Leon
Business Manager
pleon@volusia.org

Virgil Kimball
Business Specialist
vkimball@volusia.org

Robbin Sebra
Staff Assistant
rsebra@volusia.org

Offices located in the Daytona Beach International Airport (passenger terminal)
700 Catalina Drive, Suite 200
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
386-248-8048 · 800-554-3801