PUBLIC UNIVERSITY RESEARCH IN FLORIDA

PUBLIC UNIVERSITY RESEARCH IN FLORIDA – As recently reported, Florida’s public universities rose from No. 5 to No. 4 in national research rankings, and increased its research awards by 8 percent even as funding fell 5 percent nationwide. Florida’s rise in the research arena is seen as an economic boon for the state, with Florida’s universities turning $2.2 billion in research activity into a $6.6 billion economic impact. The National Academy of Inventors recently recognized five of Florida’s public universities as being in the Top 100 for producing utility patents, the most of any state, and for the second year in a row U.S. News & World Report named Florida the top state in the country for higher education. For more on that higher education ranking, visit https://tinyurl.com/hnvxq3j.

Read the Economic Scene

Rob Ehrhardt
Economic Development Director
rehrhardt@volusia.org

Sally Sprague
Executive Assistant
ssprague@volusia.org

Brad Harris
Business Manager
rbharris@volusia.org

Pedro Leon
Business Manager
pleon@volusia.org

Virgil Kimball
Business Specialist
vkimball@volusia.org

Robbin Sebra
Staff Assistant
rsebra@volusia.org

Offices located in the Daytona Beach International Airport (passenger terminal)
700 Catalina Drive, Suite 200
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
386-248-8048 · 800-554-3801