SIGNIFICANT INVESTMENT IN START-UP SPACE

SIGNIFICANT INVESTMENT IN START-UP SPACE In 2018, investment in commercial space ventures reached the record amount of $3.2 billion. This is according to the 2019 Start Up Space investment report by Bryce Space and Technology. It notes that since 2000, start-up space ventures have attracted around $21.8 billion of investment, including $8.4 billion in early and late stage venture capital, $3.1 billion in seed financing, and $4.7 billion in debt financing. More than 220 angel- and venture-backed space companies have been founded and funded since 2000. Twenty-four of these companies have been acquired, at a total value of about $3.7 billion. Most investment activity has occurred recently, and since 2015, annual investment has consistently reached at least $2 billion.

Read the Economic Scene

Rob Ehrhardt
Economic Development Director
rehrhardt@volusia.org

Sally Sprague
Executive Assistant
ssprague@volusia.org

Brad Harris
Business Manager
rbharris@volusia.org

Pedro Leon
Business Manager
pleon@volusia.org

Virgil Kimball
Business Specialist
vkimball@volusia.org

Robbin Sebra
Staff Assistant
rsebra@volusia.org

Offices located in the Daytona Beach International Airport (passenger terminal)
700 Catalina Drive, Suite 200
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
386-248-8048 · 800-554-3801