U.S. WHOLESALE TRADE RISES

U.S. WHOLESALE TRADE RISES – U.S. wholesalers experienced a 5.9 percent or $427 million annual increase in sales in 2017. This is according to U.S. Census Bureau estimates from the Annual Wholesale Trade Survey (AWTS) released on March 6, 2019. This year-over-year increase, from $7.2 trillion in 2016 to $7.6 trillion, is the largest since 2014. Petroleum and Petroleum Products trade rose 23.4 percent, trade in Metals and non-petroleum Minerals increased 14.6 percent and Lumber and Other Construction Materials continued to experience growth with an increase of 8.2 percent (on sales of $194.4 billion) in 2017. The AWTS files provide statistics on sales, e-commerce sales, inventories, purchases and operating expenses. The AWTS has been conducted annually since 1978 and covers approximately 8,500 wholesale businesses. See more at http://tinyurl.com/yxoouvdn.

Read the Economic Scene

Rob Ehrhardt
Economic Development Director
rehrhardt@volusia.org

Sally Sprague
Executive Assistant
ssprague@volusia.org

Brad Harris
Business Manager
rbharris@volusia.org

Pedro Leon
Business Manager
pleon@volusia.org

Virgil Kimball
Business Specialist
vkimball@volusia.org

Robbin Sebra
Staff Assistant
rsebra@volusia.org

Offices located in the Daytona Beach International Airport (passenger terminal)
700 Catalina Drive, Suite 200
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
386-248-8048 · 800-554-3801