FLORIDA LEADS U.S. IN THE MIGRATION OF MONEY

FLORIDA LEADS U.S. IN THE MIGRATION OF MONEY As reported, migration is providing Florida an economic boost. The state netted $16 billion in adjusted gross income from people moving to the Sunshine State in 2018, making it the country’s top beneficiary for the sixth straight year, according to recently released Internal Revenue Service data. The net economic benefit from migration increased 3% from $15.5 billion in 2017. The IRS figures are the first to reflect the net migration of personal income since the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 2017 law went into effect. The biggest losers were New York and California, which bled $9.62 billion and $7.98 billion, respectively. Read the full Bloomberg article via this link.

Read the Economic Scene

Brad Harris
Acting Economic Development Director
rbharris@volusia.org

Sally Sprague
Executive Assistant
ssprague@volusia.org

Pedro Leon
Business Manager
pleon@volusia.org

Virgil Kimball
Business Specialist
vkimball@volusia.org

Heather Edwards
Information Specialist
hedwards@volusia.org

Robbin Sebra
Staff Assistant
rsebra@volusia.org

Offices located in the Daytona Beach International Airport (passenger terminal)
700 Catalina Drive, Suite 200
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
386-248-8048 · 800-554-3801