EMPLOYMENT GAINS FOR VETS

EMPLOYMENT GAINS FOR VETS As reported, the ninth annual veteran’s survey from the Jacksonville-based Wounded Warriors Project shows those surveyed made a 40 percent employment gain between 2014 and 2018. More than 33,000 surveys were completed by veterans. Among those surveyed, the unemployment rate dropped from 20 percent in 2014 to 12 percent in 2018. Although it reflected a notable hiring improvement, 12 percent is still a significantly higher unemployment rate than among the general population. According to the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity, Florida’s unemployment rate in October was 3.4 percent.

Read the Economic Scene

Rob Ehrhardt
Economic Development Director
rehrhardt@volusia.org

Sally Sprague
Executive Assistant
ssprague@volusia.org

Brad Harris
Business Manager
rbharris@volusia.org

Pedro Leon
Business Manager
pleon@volusia.org

Virgil Kimball
Business Specialist
vkimball@volusia.org

Robbin Sebra
Staff Assistant
rsebra@volusia.org

Offices located in the Daytona Beach International Airport (passenger terminal)
700 Catalina Drive, Suite 200
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
386-248-8048 · 800-554-3801